The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    Foundation Logo   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    CONTACT: John Blacksten


    AIAA Foundation Announces Its Graduate Award Winners

    July 22, 2015 – Reston, Va. – The AIAA Foundation today announced the recipients of its seven Graduate Awards for the 2015–2016 academic year.

    Each academic year, the AIAA Foundation presents the Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards. These $5,000 awards, given in memory of the Wright brothers’ contributions to the evolution of flight, honor full-time graduate students. The winners are:

    • Brent Pomeroy,University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois

    • Matthew Reilly, Rowan University, Glassboro, New Jersey

    In addition, Byron Patterson, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, received the John Leland Atwood Graduate Award. Established in 1999, The Leland Award, sponsored by endowments from Rockwell and what is now the Boeing Company and named in memory of John Leland “Lee” Atwood, former chief executive officer of Rockwell, North American, is presented to a student actively engaged in research in the areas covered by the technical committees of AIAA.

    Four AIAA Technical Committees (TC) also presented graduate awards.

    • Imon Chakraborty, Georgia Institute of Technology, received the General Aviation Systems TC’s William T. Piper Sr. General Aviation Systems Award.

    • Brandon Cook, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio, received the Guidance, Navigation, and Control (GNC) TC’s GNC Graduate Award.

    • Ciprian Dumitrache, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado, received the Air Breathing Propulsion TC’s Gordon C. Oates Air Breathing Propulsion Graduate Award.

    • Robert Fievisohn, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, received the Propellants and Combustion TC’s Martin Summerfield Propellants and Combustion Award.

    “With education costs rising every year, making continued study financially challenging for so many students across the nation, the AIAA Foundation is pleased to be able to help these deserving students as they work toward completing their graduate degrees,” said Mike Griffin, chair of the AIAA Foundation. “We look forward to seeing their research come to fruition, and we wish them the best as they continue on to careers in the aerospace community.

    For more information on the AIAA Foundation Graduate Awards program, please contact Rachel Dowdy at or at 703.264.7577.

    About the AIAA Foundation
    The AIAA Foundation seeks to “make it exciting, make it empowering, and make it fun.” That simple, compelling philosophy drives the Foundation’s commitment to math, science, and technology education. The AIAA Foundation offers a wealth of resources to support educators from K–12 through university: scholarships, classroom grants, design competitions, and student conferences, improving scientific literacy and advancing the arts and sciences of aerospace. For more information on the AIAA Foundation and its programs for students, teachers, and professionals, please visit http:/



    About AIAA
    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551