The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten

    AIAA to Present Awards at its Propulsion and Energy Forum

    June 27, 2016 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present the following awards at a recognition luncheon on July 27, as part of the AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum and Exposition (AIAA Propulsion and Energy 2016), July 25–27, at the Salt Palace Convention Center, in Salt Lake City.

    The honorees are:

    • Henry Brandhorst, managing director, Aliquippa Holdings, LLC and CHZ Technologies, LLC, of Auburn, Alabama, will receive the 2016 AIAA Aerospace Power Systems Award. The award honors Brandhorst’s “over 55 years of developing aerospace power systems with both space and terrestrial application, for providing exceptional leadership and innovation to the aerospace power system community and academia, and for significant contributions to AIAA.”

    • Wesley Lord, technical fellow, system architecture functional design, Pratt & Whitney, East Hartford, Connecticut, will receive the 2016 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award. The award honors Lord’s “40 years of technical contributions advancing the state-of-the-art propulsors for commercial aircraft engines, reducing noise and improving fuel burn.”

    • Ronald K. Hanson, Clarence J. and Patricia R. Woodard Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, California, will receive the 2016 AIAA Energy Systems Award. The award honors Hanson’s “pioneering contributions on fundamental data provided from renewable and alternative fuels for applications to combustion engines, gasifiers and fluidized bed combustors for promoting fuel flexibility and performance of terrestrial energy systems.”

    • Robin J. Osborne, senior mechanical engineer, ERC Inc./Jacobs-ESSSA Group, Combustion Devices Design and Development Branch, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Alabama, will receive the 2016 AIAA Engineer of the Year Award. The award honors Osborne “for increasing the aerospace industry’s understanding of spark torch ignition systems and building a low-cost ignition test facility.”

    • Ahmed F. Ghoniem, Ronald C. Crane (1972) Professor, mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, will receive the 2016 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award. The award honors Ghoniem’s “pioneering research and practical contributions to propulsion and power systems in computational fluid dynamics and its application to turbulent combustion and combustion dynamics.”

    • Sanjay Garg, chief, Intelligent Control and Autonomy Branch, NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio, will receive an AIAA Sustained Service Award. The award honors Garg’s “three decades of significant and sustained contributions advancing AIAA’s technical activities as an active member of multiple technical committees and standing committees.”

    • Gary A. Flandro,, Boling Chair of Excellence in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (Emeritus), University of Tennessee Space Institute and chief engineer, Gloyer-Taylor Laboratories, Tullahoma, Tennessee, will receive the 2016 AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award. The award honors Flandro’s“exceptional contributions to the knowledge base and technology implementation of rocket propulsion and astronautics, especially in solid and liquid propellant rocket combustion instability and interior ballistics.”

    In addition, will present certificates of merit for best papers.

    For more information about the AIAA Honors and Award program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623.


    About AIAA
     AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551