The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten


    AIAA to Recognize Achievements During AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum and Exposition

    September 9, 2016 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present awards for key contributions to space science and technology during a 12:30 p.m. luncheon on September 15, as part of the AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum and Exposition (AIAA SPACE 2016), September 13–16, at the Hyatt Regency Long Beach, Long Beach, California.

    The honorees are:

    • The New Shepard Team, Blue Origin, Kent, Washington, will receive the George M. Low Space Transportation Award. The award recognizes the team for the first successful flight to space, return to Earth for a vertical landing, and successful re-use in flight to space with vertical landing return. The award will be accepted by Jeff Bezos, founder, Blue Origin.

    • James S. Voss,scholar in residence, Aerospace Engineering Sciences Department, University of Colorado – Boulder, Colorado, will receive the AIAA Haley Space Flight Award. The award recognizes Voss for his outstanding contributions to human space flight through distinguished performance on five spaceflights, space station assembly, leadership in spacecraft design and dedication to space education.

    • The Gravity Probe B Team, Stanford, California, will receive the AIAA Space Science Award. The award recognizes the team for performing, with NASA support, two revolutionary new tests of Einstein’s theory of gravity, general relativity, with cryogenic gyroscopes in Earth orbit. C.W. Francis Everitt, the team’s principal investigator, will accept the award.

    • The Cygnus Program,Orbital ATK Space Systems Group, Dulles, Virginia, will receive the AIAA Space Systems Award.The award recognizes the Cygnus Program for “innovations and service to the global space community for delivering commercial cargo to the International Space Station.” Frank DeMauro, vice president and general manager of the Advanced Programs Division at Orbital ATK will accept the award.

    • Todd A. May, director, NASA Marhsall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Alabama, will receive the AIAA von Braun Award for Excellence in Space Program. The award recognizes May’s meritorious performance in managing the development of America’s future launch system to send human and scientific missions to deep space objectives, including Mars.

    Certificates of merit for best papers will also be presented.

    For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7558.


    About AIAA
    is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551