The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    Awards Honor Achievements in the Fields of Structures and Materials


    February 29, 2012 - Reston, Va. - The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present awards honoring achievement in the fields of structures and materials at a noon awards luncheon on  April 25 as part of the AIAA/ASME/ASCE/AHS/ASC Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Conference, April 23-26, 2012, at the Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, Hawaii.


    The awards and honorees are:


    • The Walter J. and Angeline H. Chrichlow Trust Prize will be presented to Chin-The Suh, Neil Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., for pioneering developments in damage tolerant design in composites structural mechanics and for seminal contributions to academic programs in composite structures and materials. One of AIAA's highest honors, the Crichlow Trust Prize is presented for excellence in aerospace materials, structural design, structural analysis, or structural dynamics.


    • The Aerospace Design Engineering Award will be presented to Ronald Hughes, principal engineering fellow (retired), Raytheon Combat Systems, Dallas, Texas, for demonstrated excellence in the design, integration, development and production of weapon system airframes and mechanical subsystems in missile systems, and for the promotion of disciplined design processes. The Aerospace Design Engineering Award recognizes design engineers who have made outstanding technical, education or creative achievements that exemplify the quality and element of engineering design.


    • The AIAA Survivability Award will be presented to Joel Williamsen, task leader, Live Fire Test and Evaluation, Institute for Defense Analyses, Alexandria, Va., for enhancing spacecraft, aircraft, and crew survivability through advanced meteoroid/orbital debris shield designs, on-orbit repair techniques, risk assessment tools, and live fire evaluation. The Survivability Award recognizes an individual's or team's outstanding achievement or contribution in design, analysis, implementation and/or education of survivability in an aerospace system.


    For more information about these awards, or about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623.


    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 90 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551