The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten


    Seven AIAA Members Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

    February 18, 2016 – Reston, Va. – The National Academy of Engineering has elected seven members of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) to its membership, recognizing their outstanding contributions to the nation’s aerospace community.

    “AIAA congratulates these seven individuals whose work and contributions to the aerospace community have done much to shape the present understanding of flight, our planet, and the universe we inhabit,” said Sandra Magnus, AIAA executive director. “Election to the National Academy of Engineering provides fitting recognition for their groundbreaking accomplishments. We thank them for their efforts, and we look forward to seeing how they will continue shaping the future of aerospace.”

    The new members of the Academy are:

    • Steven J. Battel, AIAA Fellow, and president, Battel Engineering Inc., Scottsdale, Arizona, for “engineering design and implementation of space flight systems.”

    • Paul E. Dimotakis, AIAA Fellow, and John K. Northrop Professor of Aeronautics and professor of applied physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, for “contributions to the fluid mechanics of jet propulsion and other processes involving turbulence, mixing, and transport.

    • James E. Hubbard Jr., AIAA Fellow, and Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, department of aerospace engineering, University of Maryland, College Park and Maryland Langley Professor, National Institute of Aerospace, Hampton, Virginia, for “advances in the modelling, design, analyses, and application of adaptive structures.”

    • Michael K. Sinnett, AIAA Associate Fellow, and vice president of product development, Boeing Commercial Airplanes, The Boeing Company, Woodway, Washington, for “leadership in commercial aircraft and aircraft systems development, creating improvements in performance and cost.”

    • Adam D. Steltzner,AIAA Member, and manager, Planetary Entry, Descent, and Landing and Small Body Access Office, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California, for “development of the Mars Curiosity 2011 entry, descent and landing system and for contributions to control of parachute dynamics.”

    • Kathryn D. Sullivan,AIAA Fellow, and undersecretary of commerce and administrator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Washington, D.C., for “service to the nation through flight in space and leadership of federal oceanography and meteorology.”

    • Michael I. Yarymovych, AIAA Honorary Fellow, and president, Sarasota Space Associates, Osprey, Florida, for “contributions to space programs and for leadership of national and international aerospace organizations.”



    About AIAA
    : AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.

    About NAE
    Founded in 1964, the U.S. National Academy of Engineering is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. Its mission is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-2807
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551