Introducing the New Board of Trustees Members

In May, the Board of Trustees (BoT) welcomed new members whose terms of office began at the end of the spring business meetings.

  • Dan Hastings began his term as AIAA President (2024–2026). 
  • Laura McGill began her term as AIAA Immediate Past President (2024-2025).
  • Steve Justice began his term as AIAA Treasurer (2024-2027).
  • Three new Board of Trustees Members–At-Large also began their three-year terms in May:
    • Nancy Andersen
    • Todd Mosher
    • Cheryl O’Keefe
Get to Know Our New Board Members
  • Daniel E. HastingsPresident — Daniel E. Hastings

    Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Hastings has been on the faculty at MIT in Aeronautics and Astronautics since 1985. His research specializations include synergetic interactions between space systems and the space environment, space propulsion, space policy, and space systems architecting. Among his external appointments, he served as chief scientist in the late 1990s for the U.S. Air Force, where he led studies of Air Force investments in space. He was also the chair of the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board afterward and has served on the NASA Advisory Council and on numerous NASEM committees. He has been on The Aerospace Corporation Board of Trustees for over 18 years.

  • Steve JusticeTreasurer — Steve Justice

    The Ginn Group

    Justice has over 40 years of experience across innovation, entrepreneurship, economic development, engineering, and information technology in both the public and private sectors. He is currently the Chief Innovation Officer at The Ginn Group. In the public sector working for the State of Georgia, Justice served as the Executive Director of the Georgia Centers of Innovation leading a wide-ranging program to support the state’s strategic industries - Aerospace, Agribusiness, Energy Technology, Information Technology, Logistics, and Manufacturing. In the private sector, Justice provided technical and managerial leadership while serving at Lockheed Martin, Gulfstream Aerospace, Northrop, Delta Air Lines, Generation Orbit Launch Services, in addition to founding two Georgia-based aerospace companies. Justice is also the former Secretary of the Aerospace States Association, and long-time member of the Commemorative Air Force and the Experimental Aircraft Association.

  • Members-At-Large
    Nancy Andersen, AIAA Board of TrusteesNancy Andersen

    Johns Hopkins University - Applied Physics Laboratory

    Andersen is currently an Assistant Program Manager supporting the Air Force Health and Human Performance program within the Global Health Mission Area at Johns Hopkins University - Applied Physics Laboratory (APL). She earned a BS in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Cincinnati and an MS in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Maryland. At APL, Nancy has had the opportunity to support many sponsor domains with her expertise in systems engineering and project management, including efforts focused on military readiness and resilience, supply chain illumination and vulnerability analysis, video surveillance systems, systems architectures, nuclear detection, independent assessments, and independent research and development. Outside of APL, her career has included holding various technical and leadership positions at Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company supporting the Navy’s Nuclear Weapons Security, Fleet Ballistic Missile D5 Life Extension, Reentry Systems Engineering, Defensive Missile Systems Multiple Kill Vehicle, and Wind Tunnel testing. Nancy is an AIAA Fellow and has been actively involved with AIAA for over 30 years.

  • Todd Mosher, AIAA Board of TrusteesTodd Mosher

    Blue Origin

    Mosher is a Director at Blue Origin leading a team formulating tomorrow's space missions and systems. Dr. Mosher has over 30 years of experience working in the aerospace industry and serving as a faculty member at three universities. He has directed the design of human spaceflight and robotic spacecraft projects providing technical authority and program management through the full product lifecycle. Dr. Mosher has a Ph.D. and M.S. in aerospace engineering from the University of Colorado, an M.S. in systems engineering from the University of Alabama in Huntsville, and a B.S. in aerospace engineering from San Diego State University. Dr. Mosher has been an AIAA member since 1987 and will serve his second consecutive term on the AIAA Board of Trustees. AIAA has given him opportunities for professional growth as a student, author, speaker, leader, advisor, and awardee with a diverse range of experiences working throughout the organization.

  • Cheryl O'Keefe, AIAA Board of TrusteesCheryl O’Keefe

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory

    O’Keefe is a Technical Staff at MIT Lincoln Laboratory splitting her time between systems analysis and rapid prototyping for national defense since 2014. She earned her BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Arizona in 2012 and her MS in Aerospace Engineering with an emphasis in Fluid Dynamics and Propulsion from the University of Colorado Boulder in 2014. Cheryl was a former AIAA student liaison and young professional advisor to the Board of Trustees, as well as a member of the Young Professional Group.