Helen Reed
Helen L. Reed, Ph.D., P.E. holds the titles of Regents Professor, Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence, and Holder of the Edward "Pete" Aldridge '60 Professorship within the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. She joined Texas A&M in 2004, served as Department Head (2004-08), and founded and directs both the Computational Stability & Transition Laboratory and the AggieSat Lab Small Satellite Program. She is also co-Founder of Chandah Space Technologies. She has 41 years of experience in boundary-layer receptivity, stability, transition, and flow control for both 2-D and 3-D flowfields over the speed range from low subsonic to hypersonic, and 26 years of experience in micro- and nano- satellite design and operations and student programs. She is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA), American Physical Society, and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). She was selected for the 2018 AIAA/National Academy of Engineering 3rd Yvonne C. Brill Lectureship in Aerospace Engineering, 2018 AIAA Fluid Dynamics Award, 2016 ASME Kate Gleason Award, 2007 AIAA/American Society for Engineering Education J. Leland Atwood Award, and 2014 Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award from the State of Texas.