AIAA celebrates our industry’s discoveries and achievements from the small but brilliantly simple innovations that affect everyday life to the major discoveries and missions that fuel our collective human drive to explore and accomplish amazing things. 


AVIATION 2019 Best Papers

From the Aerospace Sciences Community: 

2019 AIAA Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Best Paper 
"Evaluation of Wavelet-Based Optical Flow Velocimetry from OH Scalar Fields in Reacting Turbulent Flows" (AIAA 2019-0270)
by Bryan E. Schmidtand Jeffrey A. Sutton of the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio and Colin A. Towery and Peter Hamlingtonof the University of Colorado in Boulder, Colorado.

2019 AIAA Applied Aerodynamics Best Paper
"Multipoint Aerodynamic Shape Optimization for Subsonic and Supersonic Regimes" (AIAA 2019-0696)
by Marco Mangano and Joaquim Martins from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

2018 AIAA Atmospheric and Space Environments Best Paper 
"Experimental Studies of Ice Crystal Accretion on an Axisymmetric Body at Engine-Realistic Conditions” (AIAA 2018-4223)

by Alexander Bucknell of the University of Oxford, Oxford, U.K.

2018 AIAA Atmospheric Flight Mechanics Best Paper
"Rapid Load Calculations Using an Efficient Unsteady Aerodynamic Solver” (AIAA 2018-3621)
by Daniel Kharlamov, Jernej Drofelnik, Andrea Da Ronch and Scott Walker of the University of Southampton, Southampton, U.K.

2018 AIAA Modeling and Simulation Best
"Human-in-the-Loop Study on Angle-of-Attack Indicator Effectiveness for Transport Category Airplanes" (AIAA 2018-2938)
by Angela Campbell, Somil Shah, and Mark Reisweberof the Federal Aviation Administration and Lisa R. Le Vieof NASA Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia.

2018 AIAA Fluid Dynamics Best Paper 
“Evaluation of Thermoacoustic-based Forcing for Control of Dynamic Stall” (AIAA 2018-3683)
by Stuart I. Benton and Miguel R. Visbal of the Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio.


2018 Plasmadynamics and Lasers Best Paper
"Parallel Vortex Body Interaction Enabled by Active Flow Control" (AIAA 2018-3521)
by Andre Weingaertner, Philipp Tewes, and Jesse C. Littleof the University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.


2018 Plasmadynamics and Lasers Best Student Paper
“Radar REMPI Diagnostic for Low Neutral Density Measurements of Xenon in Helium Buffer Gas: Experiments and Modeling” (AIAA 2018-3435)
by Christopher A. Galea, Mikhail N. Shneider, and Arthur Dogariu of Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, Tat Loon Chng, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France,  and Richard B. Miles of Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas.


2018 AIAA Thermophysics Best Papers

2018 AIAA Thermophysics Best Student Paper
“Aerothermodynamic modelling of meteor entry flows in the rarefied regime” (AIAA 2018-4180)
by Federico Bariselli of Vrije Universiteit Brussel; Stefano Boccelli of the Technical University of Milan; Thierry Magin of the von Kármán Institute for Fluid Dynamics; Aldo Frezzotti of the Technical University of Milan and Annick Hubin, of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

From the Aircraft Technology, Integration and Operations Community:

2018 Aircraft Design Best Paper
"HALE Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Part I: Solar-Powered Single and Multiple-Boom Aircraft" (AIAA 2018-3028)
by Dorian Colas, Nicholas H. Roberts, and Vishvas S. Suryakumar of Facebook, Inc., Menlo Park, California.


2018 Air Transportation Systems/Aircraft Operations Best Papers

From the Aerospace Design and Structures Community:

2018 AIAA Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Best Paper 
"Efficient Multi-Resolution Approaches for Exploration of External Aerodynamic Shape and Topology"(AIAA 2018-3952)
by Laurence Kedward, Alexandre Payot, Thomas Rendall and C.B. Allen of the University of Bristol, Bristol, U.K.


Lockheed Martin 
Northrop Grumman 
DAR Corporation