Design Build Fly
28th Annual Design/Build/Fly Competition | 18–21 April 2024 | Wichita, KS (USA)

    University teams participated in the 28th Design/Build/Fly competition, hosted by Textron Aviation in Wichita, KS.

    22 April 2024

    AIAA Announces 2024 Design/Build/Fly (DBF) Competition Winners
    • 1st Place ($3,000): Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Florida
    • 2nd Place ($2,000): Georgia Institute of Technology
    • 3rd Place ($1,500): University of Washington, Seattle
    • Best Design Report ($100): University of Southern California

    Learn More | 2024 Competition Scoring

    For questions, please contact us at

     2025 Fly-Off

    The DBF organizing committee has identified TIMPA Field in Tucson, AZ, as the site for the 29th DBF, due to take place in April 2025. Specific dates will be released with the official DBF rules in summer 2024.

    New-IconNEW FOR 2024: All team members must have a valid AIAA Student Membership. Membership numbers of all team members must be submitted with the team rosters during the initial proposal round. You may join at any time by going to the AIAA Student Membership website. Membership numbers are provided instantly upon payment of membership fees.

    New-IconNEW FOR 2024: All teams and students participating in DBF are expected to uphold the highest standards of sportsmanship during the competition and abide by the AIAA Code of Ethics. Attempts to intentionally violate the rules or negatively impact the performance of other teams will not be tolerated. Penalties for violations will be decided by the Contest Administration and may range from a warning to a loss of flight score up to disqualification from the current and future competitions.   

    * As stated in the rules, no technical rules questions will be answered by the DBF Director until after the close of the entry period. You must submit your technical questions after 31 Oct.

  • All teams and spectators attending DBF, please use #AIAADBF when you Tweet, post to your Instagram stories, or share on Facebook. Please make sure you’re following AIAA and you might get retweeted/shared!

  • Contact for Questions:

    Technical or Rules Questions:
    Submission Portal or Event Questions:

DBF 2024 Winning Teams

DBF 2024 Winning Teams


click graphic to see a larger version.

The 2022 DBF Organizing Committee
The 2024 Design/Build/Fly Organizing Committee (Standing from left to right) – Jon Cutshall, Chris Bovais, Chase Ashton, Russ Althof, Ed Feltrop, Brian Richardet, Robert Roedts, and Matt Angiulo. Not pictured: Taylor Fazzini, Brian McGrath, and Kyle Benson

About Design/Build/Fly

The 2024-2025 Design/Build/Fly Competition will celebrate its 29th year. Started in 1996 by the AIAA Applied Aerodynamics, Aircraft Design, Design Engineering and Flight Test Technical Committees as an opportunity for university students to apply real-world aircraft design experience by giving them the opportunity to validate their analytic studies.

Student teams will design, fabricate, and demonstrate the flight capabilities of an unmanned, electric powered, radio-controlled aircraft which can best meet the specified mission profile. The goal is a balanced design possessing good demonstrated flight handling qualities and practical and affordable manufacturing requirements while providing a high vehicle performance.

To encourage innovation and maintain a fresh design challenge for each new year’s participants, the design requirements and performance objective will be updated for each new contest year. The changes will provide new design requirements and opportunities, while allowing for application of technology developed by the teams from prior years.