Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheon (Proof of Purchase Required) 18 June 2019 1230 - 1400

Important Info

A ticket to the luncheon is required and included in the registration fee where indicated, Additional tickets for guests may be purchased upon registration or on site, as space is available.

Each year, the dedicated members of our technical committees come together to identify and elevate the best and brightest practitioners in their field. Join us as we celebrate the excellence of the Aspiring, Innovatingand Inspiring members of our aerospace community. 

Student Paper Competition Winners

  • Flow Control
  • Weaver Thermophysics – To Be Announced

Best Papers

  • Atmospheric Flight Mechanics
  • Multidisciplinary Design Optimization
  • Modeling and Simulation – To Be Announced

Technical Excellence Awards 

Aerodynamics Award

Robert Gregg, III 
Chief Aerodynamicist, The Boeing Company 
Mukilteo, Washington
In recognition of innovations in Aircraft Design through inspirational leadership and technical contributions in the field of Aerodynamic design and advanced concepts.

Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award

Marcus Aldén 
Professor, Lund University 
Lund, Sweden
For wide ranging and pioneering work in developing and applying laser diagnostic techniques, including linear and non-linear approaches, for study of fundamental and practical combustion. 

Aircraft Design Award

Robert Parks 
Boeing Technical Fellow, Aurora Flight Sciences, A Boeing Company 
San Jose, California
For a lifetime of novel and innovative aircraft designs including multiple prototypes and the Odysseus and eVTOL personal air vehicle. 

Chanute Flight Test Award

David Minto 
Technical Director, 96th Test Group, Air Force Test Center 
Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico
For outstanding contributions to the art, science and technology of test flight engineering and the capabilities delivered in support of the nation’s defense

Fluid Dynamics Award

Hermann Fasel 
Professor, University of Arizona 
Tucson, Arizona 
For pioneering innovation and leadership for using computational fluid dynamics as a tool for the scientific analysis of hydrodynamic instability mechanisms, transition to turbulence, and active flow control.

Ground Testing Award

James Heineck, Physical Scientist and Edward Schairer, Aerospace Engineer 
NASA Ames Research Center 
Moffett Field, California
In recognition of outstanding contributions to the areas of optical measurement technique development and implementation, flow visualization, and high-speed photography across the NASA ground test community. 

Hap Arnold Award for Excellence in Aeronautical Program Management

Charles Cross 
Chief, Turbine Engine Division, Air Force Research Laboratory 
Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
For exemplary management and technical leadership of the Versatile Affordable Advance Turbine Engines (VAATE) Program to advance turbine engine technology through focused research and development. 

Losey Atmospheric Sciences Award

Marcia Politovich 
Deputy Director for Science, Aviation Application Program (Retired) 
National Center for Atmospheric Research  
Boulder, Colorado
For her outstanding contributions in atmospheric science research dedicated to continuous improvement in aviation safety in general and in-flight icing in particular.

Plasmadynamics and Lasers Award

James A. Horkovich 
Senior Principal Engineer, AEgis Technologies 
Albuquerque, New Mexico
For professional commitment and leadership, education and mentoring of scientist engineers, and distinguished contributions to science and innovation of directed energy systems.

Theodor W. Knacke Aerodynamic Decelerator Systems Award

Ricardo A. Machin 
Chief Engineer for Capsule Parachute Systems, NASA Johnson Space Center 
Houston, Texas
For excellence in the area of design, test, and certification of human rated capsule recovery parachutes enabling mankind to explore beyond the earth

Sustained Service Award

Anthony Springer 
Director, Integration and Management Office, NASA Headquarters 
Washington, D.C.