Scholarships & Graduate Awards

To help support our future aerospace professionals, the AIAA Foundation annually awards financial aid to undergraduate and graduate students in science or engineering programs.

In the past 20 years, the AIAA Foundation has provided over 1,300 scholarships and graduate awards to students at more than 150 colleges and universities worldwide.

The AIAA Foundation Undergraduate Scholarships Program offers scholarships to college sophomores, juniors, and seniors each year, and recipients can apply to renew their scholarship annually until they reach graduation.

Through its annual Graduate Awards Program, the AIAA Foundation presents awards to graduate students doing excellent research in the air and space sciences.

Undergraduate Scholarship and Graduate Award applications MUST be submitted online. Applicants must be AIAA Student Members. To become a Student Member, click here.

Undergraduate Scholarships

Scholarship Name & Award Amount

Daedalus 88 Scholarship: $10,000*
*Note: Applicants should call out their entrepreneurial spirit by describing their leadership of a student-initiated, hands-on multidisciplinary aerospace engineering project.  Applicants must be willing to make a presentation, at a site that is mutually agreeable, on the student-led project in which they participated.
David and Catherine Thompson Space Technology Scholarship: $10,000
Vicki and George Muellner Scholarship for Aerospace Engineering: $5,000
Wernher von Braun Scholarship: $5,000
Liquid Propulsion Scholarship: $2,500

Digital Avionics Scholarships
Cary Spitzer Digital Avionics Scholarship: $2,000
Dr. Amy R. Pritchett Digital Avionics Scholarship: $2,000
Dr. James Rankin Digital Avionics Scholarship: $2,000
Ellis F. Hitt Digital Avionics Scholarship: $2,000

Space Transportation Scholarship: $1,500
Leatrice Gregory Pendray Scholarship: $1,250*
*Note: This scholarship is available to female applicants only.
Rocky Mountain Section Scholarship: $500

Apply Now

Applications accepted from 01 October to 31 January

Graduate Awards

Scholarship Name & Award Amount

Neil Armstrong Graduate Award: $5,000
Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Award (x2): $5,000
Dr. Hassan A. Hassan Graduate Award in Aerospace Engineering*:  $5,000
Luis de Florez Graduate Award: $3,500
Guidance, Navigation and Control Graduate Award: $2,500
John Leland Atwood Graduate Award: $1,250
Martin Summerfield Propellants and Combustion Graduate Award: $1,250
Gordon C. Oates Air Breathing Propulsion Graduate Award: $1,000
William T. Piper, Sr. General Aviation Systems Graduate Award:  $1,000

Apply Now

Applications accepted from 01 October to 31 January

*Applications for the Dr. Hassan A. Hassan Graduate Award will be processed via the North Carolina State University (NCSU) Aerospace Engineering program graduate school application. Applications for this particular award will NOT be processed via the AIAA online scholarship database. Applicants for the award are limited to NCSU Aerospace Engineering seniors who will pursue a graduate degree in Aerospace Engineering at NCSU. Additionally, applicants must be AIAA student members and US Citizens to be eligible for the award. For more specific information, please contact Dr. Jack Edwards ( or Dr. Kara Peters (


  • Judging is done by the Scholarship Selection Subcommittee of the Student Activities Committee.
  • All decisions made by the Scholarship Selection Subcommittee are final.
  • If the Scholarship Selection Subcommittee determines there is not a qualified applicant for a particular year, the scholarship will not be awarded.


  • Online application form opens at 12:00 p.m. EST, 1 October
  • Online applications must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. EST, 31 January
  • All transcripts must be received by 11:59 p.m. EST, 31 January

There will be NO EXCEPTIONS!