Meet the 2013 AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award Winners Written 6 June 2013


In May, AIAA brought the seven AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award winners to Washington, DC, to meet with leaders in the aerospace industry and receive their awards at the Aerospace Spotlight Gala. Lanena Berry, Betty Dabrowski, Lisa Damian-Marvin, Sean McCullough, Deborah Swan, and Jim Weber were treated to a tour of the Ronald Reagan National Airport Tower, guided tours of the National Air & Space Museum and the National Air & Space Museum, Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, and the Lockheed Martin Global Vision Center. Each teacher received a welcome bag, filled with special items that were donated by our corporate members.

“I bring back a deeper commitment to this work of inspiring the next generation, in particular, African-American children”, wrote award winner, Deborah Swan, Los Angeles, CA.

“My wife and I had a great time and got a chance to do things that we wouldn’t have ordinarily been able to do. I look forward to working with AIAA in the future. Anything you need from me, please don’t hesitate to ask,” wrote Sean McCullough, Anderson, SC.

This award, given every two years recognizes exemplary efforts by classroom K-12 educators to inspire students in science, technology, engineering and math( STEM). For further information about the AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award, please contact Carol Stewart at