Anthony M. Waas Wins AIAA - ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award Written 29 November 2016

CONTACT: John Blacksten

Honored for Contributions to Experimental, Analytical and Computational Composite Structures

November 29, 2016 – Reston, Va. – Anthony M. Waas, professor and Boeing-Egtvedt Endowed Chair, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, has won the 2017 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)–American Society for Composites (ASC) James H. Starnes Jr. Award.

Waas, an AIAA Fellow, will receive the award at an awards luncheon on January 12, held in conjunction with the 2017 AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (AIAA SciTech Forum), January 9–13, at the Gaylord Texan Hotel and Convention Center, Grapevine, Texas. The AIAA SciTech Forum includes the annual AIAA/ASCE/AHS/ASC Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Conference.

The award honors Waas’ “impactful contributions to experimental, analytical and computational aspects of composite structural mechanics, commitment to mentoring the next generation, and service to the field.”

Waas’ work on many areas within the field of composites has included innovative research on both experimental and analytical aspects of structural mechanics. Numerous aerospace firms, including NASA and The Boeing Company, have made extensive use of Waas’ Enhanced Schapery Theory for in-plane damage and failure of composites, and his Discrete Cohesive Zone Model for delamination. Waas has also worked in the field of nanocomposites, as well as 3-D textile composites, including high-speed impact testing and analysis. He has also developed ceramic matrix composites for next-generation aircraft turbine engines. Additionally, Waas’ mentoring of students and colleagues has done much to further the next generation of the aerospace workforce.

Waas is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Academy of Mechanics. His past honors include the 2015 AIAA Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Award; the 2014 Stephen S. Atwood Award from the University of Michigan; and the 2013 ASC Outstanding Researcher Award. Waas is currently chair of the Aerospace Department Chair Association, and is a past member of the AIAA Structures Technical Committee, and of the AIAA Adaptive Structures Technical Committee.

The AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award recognizes continued significant contribution to and demonstrated promotion of the field of structural mechanics over an extended period of time emphasizing practical solutions, to acknowledge high professionalism, and to acknowledge strong mentoring of and influence on colleagues. The award commemorates James H. Starnes Jr., a leader in the fields of structures and materials.

For more information on the AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award, or the AIAA Honors and Awards Program, please contact Carol Stewart at 703.264.7538 or

About ASC
ASC is an all-volunteer group of dedicated professionals in academia, industry, national laboratories and federal agencies. Their mission is to provide a communication forum for the engineering and scientific community in composites, to expedite the growth of knowledge gained from interdisciplinary engineering and scientific research, and to promote the exploitation of the unique properties of composite materials in emerging applications. For more information, visit

About AIAA
AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and nearly 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551