AIAA Announces Its Class of 2017 Fellows and Honorary Fellows Written 31 January 2017

John Blacksten

Recognizes Research and Contributions to Supersonic Wind Tunnel Research, Gas Dynamics, and History of Technology

January 31, 2017 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected its Class of 2017 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. The induction ceremony will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on May 3 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.  

“The work and leadership of AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows consistently ensures that today’s aerospace dreams become tomorrow’s realities,” said AIAA President Jim Maser. “They are individuals who have each shown a tireless dedication to shaping the future of aerospace. AIAA congratulates the members of the 2017 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows on their selection.”

Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, and recognizes preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2017 Honorary Fellows are:

  • Natalie W. Crawford, RAND Corporation
  • Alan H. Epstein, Pratt & Whitney
  • Bradford W. Parkinson, Stanford University

AIAA confers the distinction of Fellow upon individuals in recognition of their notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2017 Fellows are:

  • Naval Agarwal, The Boeing Company
  • Karl Bilimoria, NASA Ames Research Center
  • Thomas Butash, Innovative Aerospace Information Systems
  • Jan Davis, Jacobs Technology Inc.
  • Ari Glezer, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Steven Griffin, The Boeing Company
  • Naira Hovakimyan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Eric Loth, University of Virginia
  • Frank Lu, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Roger McNamara, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Daniel Miller, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Gary Polansky, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Richard Powell, Analytical Mechanics Associates Inc.
  • Mark Psiaki, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Lesa Roe, NASA Headquarters
  • Heidi Shyu, U.S. Army (retired)/Heidi Shyu Inc.
  • George Sowers, United Launch Alliance LLC
  • Ben Thacker, Southwest Research Institute
  • John Valasek, Texas A&M University
  • Julie Van Kleeck, Aerojet Rocketdyne
  • Todd Zarfos, The Boeing Company

In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are still among the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

For more information on AIAA’s Honors Program, or the AIAA Honorary Fellows or Fellows Program, please contact Patricia A. Carr at 703.264.7523 or

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551