AIAA Foundation Announces Winners of its 2016-2017 Undergraduate Team Space Design Competition Written 18 October 2017

CONTACT: John Blacksten

October 18, 2017 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 2016–2017 Undergraduate Team Space Design Competition.

The 2016–2017 contest asked competing teams to develop a precursor orbital mission to low Mars Orbit.

The winners are:

  • First Prize: University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas, for their design “Pytheas.” Team members: Bailey Miller, Nathan Guzman, Arno Prinsloo, Conner Murphy, Brooke Reid, Brian Frew, Colin Murphy. Mark Ewing, faculty advisor.

  • Second Prize: Universidade De Lisboa, Lisbon, Portugal, for their design "CAMOES.” Team members: Manuel Faria, Inês D’Ávila, Rita Rebelo, Eduardo Pires, Giuseppe Landolfo. Afzal Suleman, faculty advisor.

  • Third Prize: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, for their design "Aries 3 – Manned Mars Mission." Team members: Kyle Stanevich, Brett Schmidt, Pranika Gupta, Luke Hawkins, Eric Dowdy, Kaushik Ponnapalli, Elena Kamis. Zachary Putnam, faculty advisor

For more information about the AIAA Foundation Undergraduate Team Space Design Competition, please contact Rachel Dowdy at or 703.264.7577.

About the AIAA Foundation
The AIAA Foundation seeks to “make it exciting, make it empowering, and make it fun.” That simple, compelling philosophy drives the Foundation’s commitment to math, science, and technology education. The AIAA Foundation offers a wealth of resources to support educators from K–12 through university: scholarships, classroom grants, design competitions, and student conferences, improving scientific literacy and advancing the arts and sciences of aerospace. For more information on the AIAA Foundation and its programs for students, teachers, and professionals, please visit



American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551