AIAA Announces Candidates for Its 2018 AIAA Council of Directors Election Written 1 November 2017

CONTACT: John Blacksten

November 2, 2017 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce that its Council Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s openings on the AIAA Council of Directors. The Committee’s Chair, Jane Hansen, and AIAA Governance Secretary, Christopher Horton, confirmed the names of the director candidates who will appear on the 2018 ballot.

The nominees are:

Director–Aerospace Sciences Group

  • Brett Ridgely, Raytheon Missile Systems Company
  • Robin Vermeland, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company

Director–Aerospace Design & Structures Group

  • Carlos Cesnik, University of Michigan
  • Thiagarajan Krishnamurthy, NASA Langley Research Center

Director–Region III

  • Daniel Jensen, Rolls-Royce Corporation

Director–Region VI

  • Darin Haudrich, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Jeffery Puschell, Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems

Elections will open in February 2018.

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is nearly 30,000 engineers and scientists, and 95 corporate members, from 85 countries who are dedicated to advancing the global aerospace profession. The world’s largest aerospace technical society, the Institute convenes five yearly forums; publishes books, technical journals, and Aerospace America; hosts a collection of 160,000 technical papers; develops and maintains standards; honors and celebrates achievement; and advocates on policy issues. AIAA serves aerospace professionals around the world—who are shaping the future of aerospace—by providing the tools, insights, and collaborative exchanges to advance the state of the art in engineering and science for aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551