Recognition at the 2018 AIAA SciTech Forum Written 19 January 2018

Best Paper Award winners gather together at the Tuesday 9 January Recognition Luncheon

At the 2018 AIAA SciTech Forum, which took place 8–12 January in Kissimmee, FL, we celebrated our community's discoveries and achievements from the small but brilliantly simple innovations that affect everyday lives to the major discoveries and missions that fuel our collective human drive to explore and accomplish amazing things.

2018 Durand Lecture for Public Service

Monday, 8 January 2018

The Durand Lecture, named in honor of William F. Durand, is presented to showcase notable achievements by a scientific or technical leader whose contributions have led directly to the understanding and application of the science and technology of aeronautics and astronautics for the betterment of mankind.

Dr. C.D. Mote, Jr., President, National Academy of Engineering
Title: NAE’s Grand Challenges for Engineering and the Scholars Program
Topic: The confluence of the future of aerospace and the intersection with societal needs. 

2018 Associate Fellow Reception, Recognition

Monday, 8 January 2018

Each year, the Institute recognizes exemplary professionals for their accomplishments in engineering or scientific work, outstanding merit and contributions to the art, science, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics.

Recognition Luncheon: Celebrating Achievements in Aerospace Sciences and Information Systems

Tuesday, 9 January 2018

We honored our up-and-coming students, our technical innovators, and our seasoned practitioners. We meet to elevate their work and encourage our community.

Student Paper Competition Winners

  • Atmospheric Flight Mechanics
  • Guidance, Navigation and Contro
  • Intelligent Systems

Best Papers

  • Atmospheric Flight Mechanics
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Fluid Dynamics
  • Guidance, Navigation and Control
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Meshing, Visualization and Computational Environments
  • Modeling and Simulation
  • Theoretical Fluid Dynamics

Technical Excellence

  • Aerospace Guidance, Navigation and Control Award: Mark J. Balas, Professor, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
    Citation: “For sustained excellence in developing the frontiers of theory and practice in advanced adaptive control systems for complex and dynamic systems.”
  • de Florez Award for Flight Simulation: Laurence Retman Young, Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Citation: “Distinguished researcher responsible for fundamental contributions in applying quantitative models of human perception and control to enhance flight simulation motion and visual cueing.”
  • Intelligent Systems Award: Kevin A. Wise, Senior Technical Fellow, The Boeing Company
    Citation: “For his long history of developing intelligent autonomy and integrating intelligent systems into production aerospace systems.”
  • Mechanics and Control of Flight Award: Hanspeter Schaub, Professor, University of Colorado Boulder
    Citation: “For the far-reaching theoretical and practical advances in spacecraft guidance, navigation and control, particularly in the fields of relative motion and nonlinear attitude dynamics and control, as well as space debris remediation dynamics.”
  • Survivability Award: Vincent Volpe, Research Staff Member, Institute for Defense Analyses
    Citation: “For pioneering efforts as founding member of AIAA Survivability Technical Committee and more than 40 years of outstanding technical contributions to aircraft survivability community.”
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award: AIAA Guidance, Navigation Control (GNC) Technical Committee, Represented by: Lesley A. Weitz, Principal Simulation Modeling Engineer, The MITRE Corporation
    Citation: “For significant contributions to AIAA diversity and inclusion as a champion of women’s leadership and technical advancements in guidance, navigation, and control systems.”
Dryden Lecture in Research 

Tuesday, 9 January 2018

The Dryden Lecture in Research was named in honor of Dr. Hugh L. Dryden in 1967, succeeding the Research Award established in 1960. The Lecture emphasizes the great importance of basic and applied research to the advancement in aeronautics and astronautics and is a salute to research scientists and engineers.

Graham V. Candler, McKnight Presidential Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, and Russell J. Penrose Professor, Associate Department Head, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, University of Minnesota
Title: Advances in the Simulation of High-Speed Combustion Flows
Topic: The evolution and application of design and analysis capability to enable future scramjet-powered hypersonic aircraft.

Recognition Luncheon: Celebrating Achievements in Aerospace Design/Structures and Aerospace Literature

Thursday, 11 January 2018

The following award-winners were recognized:

Student Competitions

  • American Society of Composites(ASC) Student Competition in Composites
  • CFD Best Student Paper
  • Harry H. and Lois G. Hilton Student Paper Award in Structures
  • Jefferson Goblet
  • Lockheed Martin Student Paper in Structures
  • Southwest Research Institute Student Paper Award in Non-Deterministic Approaches

Best Papers

  • ASME/Boeing Best Paper in Structures
  • Collier Research Hypersizer/AIAA Structures

Academic/Educator Awards

  • Abe M. Zarem Award for Distinguished Achievement in Astronautics: Langston L. Williams,Graduate Research Assistant/ AEP Facilitator, Auburn University
  • Abe M. Zarem Educator Award: Joseph Majdalani, Professor, Auburn University
  • Faculty Advisor Award: Farhan Gandhi, Professor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • J. Leland Atwood Award: Hanspeter SchaubProfessor, University of Colorado at Boulder

Techincal Excellence Awards

  • Aerospace Design Engineering Award: NASA/Boeing PRSEUS Development and Test Team, Received by Dawn Jegley, Team Primary, NASA Langley Research Center
    Citation: “In recognition of excellence in developing and demonstrating damage arresting composites technology in a Pultruded Rod Stitched Efficient Unitized Structure (PRSEUS).”
  • ICME Prize: TBA
  • Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Awawrd: Dewey H. Hodges, Professor, School of Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology4

Literary Awards

  • Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award: Margot Lee Shetterly, Author, HarperCollins Publishers Hidden Figures
  • History Manuscript Award: Amy Kaminski, NASA Headquarters
  • Pendray Aerospace Literature Award: Josette R. Bellan, Senior Research Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
    Citation: “For widely reaching, seminal and outstanding publications on bio-fuels, sprays and high pressure flows to meet future challenges of Aeronautics and Astronautics combustion systems.”
  • Summerfield Book Award: Leland Nicolai, Lockeed Martin Corporation (retired) and Grant Carichner, Lockeed Martin Corporation (retired),  Authors: Fundamentals ofAircraftand Airship Design