AIAA to Recognize Technical Excellence At the 2018 AIAA AVIATION Forum Written 18 May 2018

CONTACT: John Blacksten

May 18, 2018 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of technical excellence awards to be presented during the 2018 AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition (AIAA AVIATION Forum). 

The awards will be presented during the Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 26, at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta, in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information, please visit the AIAA Honors and Awards website. 

The following aerospace professionals will be recognized for their outstanding contributions in their field having been chosen by their peers from related AIAA technical committees.

  • Tim Colonius, Frank and Ora Lee Marble Professor of Mechanical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, is being presented with the 2018 AIAA Aeroacoustics Award for outstanding contributions to theoretical and computational aeroacoustics for the prediction and control of noise and his absolute commitment to educating the next generation.

  • Kenneth C. Hall, Julian Francis Abele Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Duke University, has won the 2018 AIAA Aerodynamics Award for seminal contributions in the development of novel unsteady aerodynamic theories and analysis methods for internal and external flows.

  • The Airbus A380 Design Team will receive the 2018 AIAA Aircraft Design Award for their work designing the unique double-deck Airbus 380, the perfect large commercial transport for long-range, high-density routes.

  • Helen Reed, Regents professor in Aerospace Engineering, Texas A&M University, has won the 2018 AIAA Fluid Dynamics Award for lifetime achievements in the fundamental understanding, modeling, and control of boundary-layer laminar-to-turbulent transition for aerospace vehicles from subsonic to hypersonic.

  • Norbert Ulbrich, senior aerodynamicist at Jacobs Technology, Inc. working at the NASA Ames Research Center, is being presented with the 2018 AIAA Ground Testing Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to ground testing, balance calibration methods, and wind tunnel measurement corrections over many decades of dedicated service.

  • Jeff Babione, vice president and general manager of the advanced development programs at 
    Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company, will receive the 2018 AIAA Hap Arnold Award for Excellence in Aeronautical Program Management for his exemplary leadership and program management contributions to Lockheed Martin Aeronautics F-16, F-22, and F-35 programs.

  • Roland Bowles, retired, NASA Langley Research Center, has won the 2018 AIAA Losey Atmospheric Sciences Award for outstanding scholarship and leadership that has led to a better understanding and mitigation of aviation hazards (wind shear, convection-induced turbulence, and wake turbulence).

  • Evin J. Cramer, former technical fellow with The Boeing Company, has won the 2018 Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Award for her seminal contributions to formulation and solution of multidisciplinary design optimization (MDO) problems, and for exceptional advocacy in promoting industrial adoption of MDO methods and tools.

  • Norman Crabill, retired, NASA Langley Research Center, is being presented with the 2018 AIAA Piper General Aviation Award for a lifetime of general aviation technical contributions and advocacy including lightning protection, weather datalink, and current work on active ride improvement.

  • Martin Gundersen, Lloyd F. Hunt Chair in Electrical Power Engineering and Professor of Electrical Engineering-Electrophysics, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, and Physics and Astronomy, University of Southern California, has won the 2018 AIAA Plasmadynamics and Lasers Award for development of high-voltage pulse power technology, studies of non-equilibrium nanosecond pulse plasmas, and their applications for plasma assisted combustion, pollution control, quantum electronics, and biology.

  • Iain D. Boyd, the James E. Knott Professor of Engineering, University of Michigan, will receive the 2018 AIAA Thermophysics Award for his contributions to the development and application of detailed physical models and advanced computational methods for numerical simulation of gas flows in thermochemical nonequilibrium.

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807 
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551