AIAA Announces Candidates for 2019 Election Written 19 October 2018

CONTACT: John Blacksten

October 19, 2018 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce that its Executive Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s election of President-Elect and the Council Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s openings on the AIAA Council of Directors. 

Elections will open in February 2019. Executive Nominating Committee Chair James Maser, Council Nominating Committee Chair Jane Hansen, and AIAA Governance Secretary Christopher Horton confirmed the names of the candidates who will appear on the 2019 ballot. 

The nominees are: 


  • Basil Hassan, Sandia National Laboratories
  • George Nield, Commercial Space Technologies, LLC
  • Wanda Sigur, Lockheed Martin Corporation (Retired)

Director - Region IV

  • Terry Burress, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company
  • Sarah Shull, NASA Johnson Space Center

Director - Region V

  • Kristen Gerzina, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Orval "Rusty" Powell, Millennium Engineering and Integration Company

Director - Aerospace Outreach Group

  • Tucker Hamilton, United States Air Force
  • G. Alan Lowrey, Jacobs Space Exploration Group

Director - Integration Group

  • Peter Hartwich, Boeing Engineering, Test & Technology

Director - Information Systems Group

  • Allan (Terry) Morris, NASA Langley Research Center

Director - Propulsion and Energy Group

  • Joaquin Castro, Aerojet Rocketdyne

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807 
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551