AIAA to Recognize Technical Excellence in Aerospace at the 2019 AIAA SciTech Forum Written 11 December 2018

CONTACT: John Blacksten

December 11, 2018 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of technical excellence awards to be presented during the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (AIAA SciTech Forum) held 7–11 January at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, Calif.

The awards will be presented during two Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheons on Tuesday, 8 January, and Thursday, 10 January. For more information about the awards presented, please visit the AIAA Honors and Awards website.

The following aerospace professionals will be recognized for outstanding contributions in their field, having been chosen by their peers from related AIAA technical committees: 

  • Scott A. Morton,, Project Manager, CREATE Aviation Vehicles Project at the Department of Defense High Performing Computing Modernization Program Computational Research and Engineering Acquisition Tools and Environments Program in Vicksburg, Mississippi, was selected to receive the 2019 Aerospace Software Engineering Award to honor over 30 years of significant research and innovations in the software engineering of multidisciplinary, physics-based simulation tools for the design analysis and virtual test of aeronautical systems.

  • Ronald A. Hess, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of California, Davis, has been selected to receive the 2019 deFlorez Award for Flight Simulation for his contributions in the field of simulation fidelity for the improvement of air vehicle simulation and trainers, aircraft man–machine interface, and flight control.

  • E. Glenn Lightsey, Professor, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, was selected to receive the 2019 Mechanics and Control of Flight Award in recognition of his far-reaching advances toward low-cost space mission concepts through groundbreaking technological developments in sensor and actuator systems for small satellites.

  • Larry B. Ilcewicz, Chief Scientific and Technical Advisor for Advanced Composite Materials at the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), was selected to receive the 2019 Walter J. and Angeline H. Crichlow Trust Prize to honor his exemplary technical leadership in establishing a safety and regulatory framework enabling large scale structural application of composites in commercial and general aviation aircraft, rotorcraft and engines.

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter  @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807 
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551