AIAA Announces 2019 Sustained Service Award Winners Written 21 December 2018

CONTACT: John Blacksten

December 21, 2018 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Sustained Service Awards. 

“AIAA is grateful to our outstanding volunteers who offer their expertise, leadership, and energy to help the Institute shape the future of aerospace for the industry and our nearly 30,000 members,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “These Sustained Service Award winners have helped transform AIAA’s governance, chaired technical committees and working groups, and have led by example. Volunteers are the lifeblood of AIAA.” 

The AIAA Board of Directors created the award in 1999 “to recognize sustained, significant service and contributions to AIAA by members of the Institute.”

  • Marty Bradley joined AIAA in 1982 and became an AIAA Fellow in 2018. He currently leads projects to investigate advanced electric aircraft concepts for Boeing Commercial Airplanes. 

    Bradley is the leader of the AIAA Aircraft Electrified Propulsion and Power (AEPP) Working Group. He helped create and was the General Chair of the 2018 Electric Aircraft Technologies Symposium (EATS). He previously was Chair of the AIAA Green Engineering Program Committee and the High-Speed Air Breathing Propulsion Technical Committee. He is an instructor for the AIAA short course “Design for Electric and Hybrid Electric Aircraft” 

    His award citation reads “For sustained, significant service at the national level with emphasis on Technical and Program/Integration Committee leadership, including formation of new committees.”

  • Timothy Dominick is a Senior Principal Mechanical Engineer at Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems in Elkton, Maryland. He joined AIAA in 1996 and is an AIAA Associate Fellow. He has served on the Public Policy Committee for 12 years, as Region I Deputy Director of Public Policy for eight years, and the Delaware Section Council for 14 years. He also leads the AIAA Congressional Visits Day Program. 

    He is receiving the award “For sustained AIAA leadership at the section, region, and national committee levels attested by service to the Delaware Section and Public Policy Committee.”

  • Naira Hovakimyan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has been awarded the AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award for her book, L1 Adaptive Control Theory: Guaranteed Robustness with Fast Adaptation. The award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions to aeronautical and astronautical literature in the relatively recent past.

  • Associate Fellow Mark Melanson joined AIAA in 1994. He served through May 2018 as the Director for the Systems Integration Group and is a Ground Test Technical Committee past chair. Melanson also chaired the AIAA-sponsored focus group “Wind Tunnel Users Working Group – US Industry” to develop industry-wide strategic recommendations for sustaining the national wind tunnel infrastructure and was the past chair of the Lockheed Martin Wind Tunnel Focus group. 

    Melanson recently retired from Lockheed Martin Corporation where he served as the Senior Manager for Integration and Infrastructure for the “Labs and Technical Services” organization within Lockheed Martin Aeronautics. He has more than 38 years of industry experience developing technology and tactical aircraft including the F-35, F-22, F-16, and a range of advanced development technology programs. 

    He is receiving the award “For recognition of more than 24 years of Institute leadership including key contributions to the evolution of the New Event and Governance Models.”

  • Anthony M. Springer, director of the Integration and Management Office, NASA Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD), is responsible for the key directorate processes and activities including strategic communications, education, integration of ARMD and agency strategic planning and performance reporting, various program support activities including internal reviews, and program, human capital and mission support resources and technology requirements. 

    Springer joined AIAA in 1991 and is an AIAA Fellow. He has served in more than 30 roles since joining AIAA, including Associate Editor of the AIAA Journal; Chair, of the History Technical Committee; AIAA Fellows Selection Committee Reviewer; Founder/Chair, Children's Literature Award Committee; Director–Region II, Board of Directors; Founder/General Chair, X-Vehicles Symposium; and Technical Chair of the following: Aerospace Sciences Meeting, Joint Propulsion Conference, Space Conference, and Global Air and Space Meeting. 

    He is receiving the award “For decades of sustained service to the Institute in the areas of Membership, Technical Activities and Publications at all levels, from the Section to serving on the Board of Directors.”

  • Randy Truman became a Student Member in 1972, before earning a Ph.D. from Arizona State University. He was Faculty Adviser for the University of New Mexico Student Branch from 1982 to 2018. Truman was named Associate Fellow (1993), received the 2000 National Faculty Award, and chaired the Albuquerque Section. On the Student Activities Committee (1990–2018), he chaired its Scholarships & Awards Subcommittee from 2002 to 2011. 

    His award citation reads “For over 36 years of outstanding, exceedingly active, sustained service to AIAA as a Faculty Adviser, as well as involvement in Section leadership and participation in the Student Activities Committee.”

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Patricia A. Carr, Manager, Honors and Awards Programs, at

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807 
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551