Nine AIAA Members Elected to the National Academy of Engineering Written 12 February 2020


CONTACT: Michele McDonald

February 12, 2020 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) congratulates the newly elected members of the prestigious National Academy of Engineering (NAE), nine of whom are AIAA members or award winners.

“These newly elected NAE members are already well known to AIAA for their significant contributions to the aerospace community,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “We are proud to call them colleagues and congratulate them on this great achievement.

The newest NAE members who are also AIAA Fellows, Associate Fellows or AIAA award winners are:

Bolden, Charles F., former administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Alexandria, Va. For leadership and development of U.S. human spaceflight and space operations programs, and for revitalizing fundamental aeronautics research.

Candler, Graham V., McKnight Presidential Professor, aerospace engineering and mechanics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. For development and validation of computational models for high-fidelity simulation of supersonic and hypersonic interactions.

Hall, Kenneth C., Julian Francis Abele Professor, department of mechanical engineering and materials, Duke University, Durham, N.C. For development of unsteady aerodynamic and aeromechanics theories and analysis for internal and external aerodynamic flows.

Helms, Susan J., principal and owner, Orbital Visions LLC, Colorado Springs, Colo. For accomplishments in civil and military space programs.

Jackson, Dana (Keoki), chief engineer and vice president of engineering and program operations, Lockheed Martin Corp., Bethesda, Md. For developing human and technological aerospace capabilities for national security, and for promoting global technology cooperation.

Ochoa, Ellen, retired director, NASA Johnson Space Center, Boise, Idaho. For service as an astronaut, a technical leader in government, and an optical scientist/engineer.

Russell, Mark E., vice president of engineering, technology and mission assurance, Raytheon Co., Waltham, Mass. For leadership in developing radar systems for enhanced national security and safety.

Shotwell, Gwynne, president and chief operating officer, SpaceX, Hawthorne, Calif. For bringing affordable, commercially competitive space transportation to NASA and the U.S. National Security Space Launch.

Walker, Steven H., chief technology officer, Lockheed Martin Corp., Bethesda, Md. For leadership of national security R&D at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency and the U.S. Air Force.

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551