NASA Announces Astronauts for SpaceX Crew-2 Mission In Spring 2021 Written 29 July 2020


SpaceX Crew-2 mission members. Pictured left to right are NASA astronauts Megan McArthur and Shane Kimbrough, JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide and ESA astronaut Thomas Pesquet. | NASA

SPACE reports that NASA “and its international partners have officially assigned the astronauts to fly on SpaceX’s Crew-2 mission in spring of 2021, the U.S. space agency announced” Tuesday. The astronauts in Crew-2 include: NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough and Megan McArthur, “who will serve as spacecraft commander and pilot, respectively,” Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and ESA astronaut Thomas Pesquet. Hoshide and Pesquet will both serve as specialists for the mission. Crew-2 “will be SpaceX’s second operational Crew Dragon flight to the International Space Station, following the upcoming Crew-1 [astronaut] mission, which is slated to launch in September.”
Full Story (SPACE)