AIAA Announces Candidates for 2021 Election Written 29 October 2020


October 29, 2020 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce that its Executive Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s election of President-Elect and the Council Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s openings on the AIAA Council of Directors.

Elections will open 27 January 2021. Executive Nominating Committee Chair Paul Nielsen, Council Nominating Committee Chair John Blanton, and AIAA Governance Director Christopher Horton confirmed the names of the candidates who will appear on the 2021 ballot.

The nominees are:


  • Laura J. McGill, Raytheon Missiles and Defense
  • George C. Nield, Commercial Space Technologies, LLC

Director-Elect–Young Professionals Group

  • Alexandra Dukes, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
  • Kaela Martin, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Cheryl O’Keefe, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Director–Region III

  • Peggy A. Cornell, NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Eric J. Ruggiero, GE Aviation

Director–Region VI

  • Melinda E. Tolle, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Oleg A. Yakimenko, Naval Postgraduate School

Director–Aerospace Design and Structures Group

  • Jeanette L. Domber, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
  • Masoud Rais-Rohani, University of Maine

Director–Aerospace Sciences Group

  • M. Christopher Cotting, U.S. Air Force Test Pilot School
  • Lesley A. Weitz, The MITRE Corporation

Media contact: Brian Talbot,, 703.980.4132

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow AIAA on TwitterFacebook, or LinkedIn.