AIAA to Recognize Excellence in Aerospace Award Winners at the 2023 AIAA SciTech Forum Written 12 December 2022


December 12, 2022 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of awards to be presented during the 2023 AIAA SciTech Forum, to be held 23–27 January 2023, National Harbor, Maryland. Registration is open to attend in person or online. Journalists can request a Press Pass here.
We are proud to recognize these accomplished individuals for their influence on the aerospace profession, their outstanding merit, and their unique contributions to the art, science, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “Chosen by their peers, these visionaries, technological leaders, and exemplary professionals are truly inspirational. We are grateful for their efforts working toward a better world.”

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, contact Patricia A. Carr at


2022 J. Leland Atwood Award
This award recognizes a recent outstanding educational achievement and encourages innovative improvements in aerospace education.

John Sullivan, Purdue University
For extraordinary contributions to aerospace education and research, including pioneering work on design-build-test student projects, international leadership in the development of pressure- and temperature-sensitive paints for aerodynamic measurements, and statesman-like academic leadership, and for the widespread and profound impact on his students and the broader aerospace industry.


2023 AIAA Children’s Literature Award
This award is presented for an outstanding, significant, and original book in aeronautics and astronautics published within the last two years.

Clayton Anderson
Sleeping Bear Press
Letters from Space

2023 Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award
The award is presented for the best original contribution to the field of aeronautical or astronautical non-fiction literature published in the last five years dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics or astronautics on society.

Diane Vaughan, Columbia University
Dead Reckoning: Air Traffic Control, System Effects, and Risk

2023 AIAA History Manuscript Award
This award is presented for the best historical manuscript dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics and astronautics on society.

Cathleen S. Lewis
Smithsonian Institution National Air and Space Museum 
Cosmonaut: A Cultural History

2023 AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award
The award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions to aeronautical and astronautical literature in the relatively recent past.

"Bala" Balakumar Balachandran
University of Maryland
Applied Nonlinear Dynamics: Analytical, Computational, and Experimental Methods and Vibrations, Third Edition


2023 AIAA Mary W. Jackson Diversity and Inclusion Award
This award recognizes an individual or group within AIAA who has devoted time and effort and made significant contributions to the advancement of diversity and inclusion within the Institute

Eric J. Ruggiero
GE Aerospace
For leadership in bringing the importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion to the forefront for the aerospace community through sustained efforts through professional societies.  


2023 AIAA Aerospace Software Engineering Award
This award is presented for outstanding technical and/or management contributions to aeronautical or astronautical software engineering.

Elizabeth T. Whitaker
Georgia Tech Research Institute/Georgia Institute of Technology
For twenty-five years of expert knowledge contributions researching, teaching, and applying Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) techniques primarily to DARPA, IARPA, and DOD aviation application.

2023 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award
This award is presented to an individual for sustained, meritorious accomplishment in the arts, sciences, and technology of air breathing propulsion systems.

Feng Liu
University of California, Irvine
For the turbine-burner engine innovation and other high-impact contributions of computational methods for turbomachinery aerodynamics.

2023 AIAA Energy Systems Award
This award is presented for a significant contribution in the broad field of energy systems, specifically as related to the application of engineering sciences and systems engineering to the production, storage, distribution, and conservation of energy.

Bengt Aake Sundén
Lund University
For significant contributions to the development of efficient innovative cooling concepts of gas turbines and aircraft engines by pushing advanced numerical and experimental techniques to the forefront.

2023 AIAA Information Systems Award
This award is to recognize outstanding technical and/or management contributions in space and aeronautics computer, sensing, and fusion aspects of information technology and science.

Jimmie G. McEver III
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
For outstanding technical and managerial contributions to complex systems, cyberspace operations, and command and control, to include exemplary outreach efforts within the aerospace community

2023 AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award
This award is presented for an outstanding recent technical or scientific contribution by an individual in the mechanics, guidance, or control of flight in space or the atmosphere.

Robert H. Bishop
University of South Florida
For distinguished contributions to spacecraft control systems, especially for pioneering advancements of guidance and navigation systems for the Space Shuttle and ALHAT, and precision landings.

2023 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award
This award is presented for outstanding technical contributions to aeronautical or astronautical combustion engineering.

Suresh Menon
Georgia Institute of Technology
For distinguished and pioneering contributions to the field of multi-scale computational modeling and simulation of turbulent and multiphase combustion in power and propulsion systems.

2023 AIAA Walter J. and Angeline H. Crichlow Trust Prize
This award is presented for a specific achievement or body of work that became significant during the immediate past 15 years.

Inderjit Chopra
University of Maryland
For seminal contributions to rotorcraft fundamental research and education; milestone design projects (human-powered, DaVinci-Aerial-Screw, Mars helicopters), and distinguished service to federal agencies, industry, and professional societies.

2023 AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award
This award is presented for outstanding achievement in the development or application of rocket propulsion systems.

Rodney L. Burton
CU Aerospace, L.L.C.
For distinguished enhancement of science and innovation in the field of electric space propulsion, education of scientist engineers, and entrepreneurial leadership in aerospace engineering.

Media Contact: Rebecca B. Gray,, 804-397-5270 cell

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, and follow AIAA on TwitterFacebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram.