AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award Open for Nominations 1 February 2020 25 June 2020

In honor of James Starnes, a leader in fields of structures and materials, the James H. Starnes Award is presented to recognize continued significant contribution to and demonstrated promotion of the field of structural mechanics over an extended period of time emphasizing practical solutions, to acknowledge high professionalism, and to acknowledge the strong mentoring of and influence on colleagues, especially younger colleagues. The award is sponsored by the American Society of Composites (ASC) and AIAA and presented every four years generally at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (SciTech). Administration of the award resides with AIAA. The next presentation will be in 2021. Nomination Instructions and Form

Award Recipients


  • Dr Anthony M Waas
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    AIAA Citation: For impactful contributions to experimental, analytical and computational aspects of composite structural mechanics, commitment to mentoring the next generation, and service to the field.


  • Prof Michael W Hyer
    AIAA Citation: For a distinguished career advancing composite structures, serving and promoting the profession, and nurturing the next generation of researchers.
  • Dr Keith T Kedward
    AIAA Citation: For his lifelong contributions in the field of composite structural mechanics and his devotion to the mentoring of students and colleagues.


  • Dr Raphael T Haftka
    University of Florida
    AIAA Citation: For pioneering work on optimization techniques for composite structures, his mentoring of countless undergraduate and graduate students, and his exemplary service to the profession.
  • Dr Chin-Teh Sun
    Purdue University
    AIAA Citation: For four decades of unparalleled contributions in composite materials research, scholarly publications, and professional activities, as well as mentoring of students.