Industry News

 News about the aerospace industry curated by AIAA staff

First All-Female Spacewalk Scheduled For Friday

Oct 17, 2019, 09:32 AM by Lawrence Garrett

Reuters reports that NASA astronauts Jessica Meir and Christina Koch “will make history on Friday when they conduct the first ever all-female spacewalk to replace the power source on the” ISS. The duo “will exit the ISS at 7:50 a.m. EDT (11:50 GMT) to fix the station’s faulty battery charge/discharge unit.” NASA will broadcast the entire spacewalk “from 6:30 a.m. EDT (10:30 GMT) on [NASA] Television and on the agency’s website.” (Image: ISS Spacewalk | NASA)
Full Story (Reuters)