Awards to be Presented at AIAA AVIATION 2013 Conference Written 19 July 2013

(AIAA Communications 2008–2017)

Awards Honor Achievement in Aircraft Design, V/STOL Technology, and Aerospace History

July 19, 2013 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present awards for technical excellence and aerospace history at a noon awards luncheon on August 13 as part of the AIAA AVIATION 2013 conference, being held August 12¬–14 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, Los Angeles, Calif.

  • Egbert Torenbeek, professor emeritus of aerospace engineering, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands, will receive the AIAA Aircraft Design Award. The award is presented to a design engineer or team for the conception, definition, or development of an original concept or career contributions leading to significant advancement in aircraft design or design technology. Torenbeek is being recognized for lifetime achievement in advancing aircraft design education and promoting computer-aided techniques in aircraft design.

  • William J. Lewis, assistant chief engineer (retired), Rolls-Royce PLC, Winscombe, U.K., will receive the AIAA F. E. Newbold V/STOL Award. The award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions in the management of a significant aeronautical or aeronautical related program or project. Lewis is being recognized for over 30 years of leadership and advocacy of supersonic V/STOL aircraft within Rolls-Royce and throughout the U.S./U.K. aerospace industry.

  • Bruce Larrimer, Larrimer Associates, Columbus, Ohio, will receive the AIAA History Manuscript Award. The award is presented for the best historical manuscript dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics and astronautics on society. Larrimer is being recognized for his manuscript “Thinking Obliquely: Robert T. Jones, His Oblique Wing and Its Legacy.”

The awards luncheon will also feature a keynote address by Richard A. Clarke, chairman and chief executive officer, Good Harbor Risk Management, LLC, and former U.S. national coordinator for security, infrastructure protection, and counterterrorism. Clarke, the author of the New York Times bestseller Cyberwar: The Next Threat to National Security and What To Do About Itwill speak about the cybersecurity threats confronting the global aviation enterprise, the possible impact of those threats, and what steps can be taken to reduce them.

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623. For more information about the AIAA AVIATION 2013conference, please visit or contact Duane Hyland at 703.264.7558 or Registration is complimentary for credentialed members of the press.

About AIAA
AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.