Vigor Yang to Deliver AIAA Von Kármán Lecture in Astronautics Written 22 July 2016

John Blacksten

Lecture Entitled "Rethinking Space Propulsion: Enabling the Future of Space Transportation and Exploration"

July 22, 2016 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected Vigor Yang, AIAA Fellow, and the William R. T. Oakes Professor and chair of the School of Aerospace Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, to give its AIAA von Kármán Lecture in Astronautics. Yang will deliver his lecture on September 13 at 6:30 p.m. (PDT), as part of the AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum and Exposition (AIAA SPACE 2016), September 13–16, at the Hyatt Regency Long Beach and Long Beach Convention Center, Long Beach, California. Yang’s lecture is entitled “Rethinking Space Propulsion: Enabling the Future of Space Transportation and Exploration."

Yang has a long history of significant contributions to the fields of propulsion, combustion and energetics. His work has included: pioneering approaches for integrated analyses of combustion dynamics in rockets and air breathing engines; creating the first high-fidelity modeling of multi-scale combustion processes for energetic materials; establishing the first unified theory for treating supercritical combustion applicable to any thermodynamic fluid state; reaching the first general theory of combustion and ignition of nano-metallic particulates; and building a comprehensive knowledge base describing the working of a broad range of rockets worldwide.

Yang is the author of over 170 archival journal papers, ten books, and six dedicated journal issues in the areas of propulsion, combustion and energetics.

Yang is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Royal Aeronautical Society. His past honors include the 2014 Joint Army, Navy, NASA, and Air Force Interagency Propulsion Committee’s Lifetime Achievement Award; the 2014 ASME Worcester Reed Warner Medal; the 2013 Institute for Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems William R. Marshall Award; the 2009 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award; the 2008 AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award; and the 2005 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award.

The von Kármán Lectureship in Astronautics honors an individual who has performed notably and distinguished themselves technically in the field of astronautics, and is named in honor of Theodore von Kármán, a world-famous authority on aerospace sciences.

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551