AIAA Foundation Announces Results of Its 2016-2017 Undergraduate Team Engine Design Competition Written 25 August 2017

John Blacksten

September 6, 2017 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 2016–2017 AIAA Foundation Undergraduate Team Engine Design Competition, which was awarded at the recent AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum in Atlanta.

The 2016–2017 Undergraduate Team Engine Design Competition challenge was to design a Next Generation Single-Engine Turboprop Aircraft. The undergraduate winning teams for this category were:

  • First Place: The University of Kansas
    Team Name: Aero Mob Propulsion Division
    Student Team Members: Thomas Row, Elliot Bicker, Austin Tuggle, Elizabeth Stoops, Alex Carnoali, Antonio Schoneich, Cody Hill, Christopher Bynum, Juan Castro
    Faculty Advisor: Saeed Farokhi, Ray Taghavi

  • Beihang University, China
    Team Name: J.J. Fly
    Student Team Members: Zhang Yingao, Wen Mengyang, and Wang Haonan
    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Chih-Jen Sung

  • Third Place: VIT University, India
    Team Name: SEDS-VIT
    Student Team Members: Badriveer Thota, Neelesh Katoch, Dhruv Vijapuri, Naman Soni, Anushka Vargantwar, Nitin Ramseshan, Keshu Jat
    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Bibin John

Details of the Design Competition challenge can be found here.

“The annual Team Engine competition is a vital function of AIAA and the Air Breathing Propulsion Committee Branch,” said Jimmy Tai, engineering manager at the Georgia Institute of Technology and the competition’s organizer.

Tai concluded, “All of the judges said that they were extremely impressed with both the engineering quality and professional presentation of the entries received. We look forward to building this competition in the future to include more international participation and increase the number of first-time participants.” 

Learn more about the AIAA Foundation Design Competitions.

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551