AIAA to Recognize Technical Excellence in Aerospace at the 2019 AIAA AVIATION Forum Written 3 April 2019

CONTACT: John Blacksten  

April 3, 2019 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of technical excellence awards to be presented during the 2019 AIAA AVIATION Forum. 

The awards will be presented during the Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, 18 June, at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas.

The following aerospace professionals will be recognized for their outstanding contributions in their field having been chosen by their peers from related AIAA technical committees.

Robert Gregg III, chief aerodynamicist of The Boeing Company in Mukilteo, Washington, is being presented with the 2019 Aerodynamics Award in recognition of innovations in aircraft design through inspirational leadership and technical contributions in the field of aerodynamic design and advanced concepts.

Marcus Aldén, aprofessor at Lund University in Lund, Sweden, is being honored with the 2019 Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award for his wide-ranging and pioneering work in developing and applying laser diagnostic techniques, including linear and nonlinear approaches, for study of fundamental and practical combustion. 

Robert Parks, retired technical fellow of The Boeing Company from San Jose, California, is being presented with the 2019 Aircraft Design Award for a lifetime of novel and innovative aircraft designs including multiple prototypes and the Odysseus and eVTOL personal air vehicle. 

David Minto, retired technical director of the 96th Test Group at the Air Force Test Center, 
Holloman Air Force Base in New Mexico, is being presented the 2019 Chanute Flight Test Award for outstanding contributions to the art, science, and technology of test flight engineering and the capabilities delivered in support of the nation’s defense.

Hermann Fasel, a professor at the University of Arizona in Tucson, is being presented with the 2019 Fluid Dynamics Award for pioneering innovation and leadership for using computational fluid dynamics as a tool for the scientific analysis of hydrodynamic instability mechanisms, transition to turbulence, and active flow control.

James Heineck, physical scientist, and Edward Schairer, aerospace engineer, both at NASA Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California, are jointly being presented with the 2019 Ground Testing Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to the areas of optical measurement technique development and implementation, flow visualization, and high-speed photography across the NASA ground test community. 

Charles Cross, chief of the Turbine Engine Division at the Air Force Research Laboratory at
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Ohio, is being presented with the 2019 Hap Arnold Award for Excellence in Aeronautical Program Management for exemplary management and technical leadership of the Versatile Affordable Advanced Turbine Engines (VAATE) Program to advance turbine engine technology through focused research and development.

Marcia Politovich, retired deputy director for Science at the Aviation Application Program of the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado, is being presented with the 2019 Losey Atmospheric Sciences Awardfor her outstanding contributions in atmospheric science research dedicated to continuous improvement in aviation safety in general and in-flight icing in particular.

James A. Horkovich, senior principal engineer at AEgis Technologies in Albuquerque, New Mexico, is being presented with the 2019 Plasmadynamics and Lasers Award for his professional commitment and leadership, education and mentoring of scientist engineers, and distinguished contributions to science and innovation of directed energy systems.

Ricardo “Koki” Machin, chief engineer for Capsule Parachute Systems at NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, is being presented with the 2019 Theodor W. Knacke Aerodynamic Decelerator Systems Award for excellence in the area of design, test, and certification of human-rated capsule recovery parachutes enabling mankind to explore beyond the Earth.

In addition to the technical awards, AIAA will recognize Anthony Springer, director of the Integration and Management Office at NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C., with an AIAA Sustained Service Award for his decades of service to the Institute in the areas of membership, technical activities, and publications at all levels, from the section to serving on the Board of Directors.

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter  @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551