AIAA Announces Technical Excellence Award Winners to Be Presented at AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum Written 10 July 2019

CONTACT: Michele McDonald

July 10, 2019 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of technical excellence awards to be presented during the 2019 AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum.

The awards will be presented during the Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, 21 August, at the JW Marriott in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The following aerospace professionals will be recognized for their outstanding contributions in their field having been chosen by their peers from related AIAA technical committees:

2019 AIAA Space Automation and Robotics Award
Orbital Express Team
Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
Received by: Dr. Fred Kennedy, DARPA
In recognition of Orbital Express’s pioneering work in demonstrating autonomous orbital robotics, including these firsts: autonomous robotic grapple, robotic ORU changeout, and robotic fluid transfer in space.

2019 AIAA Space Systems Award
Jess M. Sponable
XS-1 Program Manager, DARPA
For unique and extraordinary leadership in providing the pathway for the evolution of the United States military launch capability toward robust and affordable reusable space systems.

2019 AIAA von Braun Award for Excellence in Space Program Management
Christopher M. Crumbly
Executive Director, von Braun Center for Science and Innovation
For sustained excellence in furthering human spaceflight through strategic planning, managing several NASA projects, and leading key programs within the Space Launch System.

2019 AIAA Aerospace Power Systems Award
Judith A. Jeevarajan
Senior Scientist, NASA Johnson Space Center
In recognition of significant contributions to the design, development, and test of safe and reliable battery energy storage power systems for aerospace applications.

2019 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award
Karen A. Thole
Professor and Department Head, Mechanical Engineering, Pennsylvania State University
For significant technical contributions to the understanding of convective heat transfer in gas turbine engines, and continuing efforts to promote participation of underrepresented groups in aerospace.

2019 AIAA Energy Systems Award
Arun Majumdar
Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, and Jay Precourt Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Photon Science, Stanford University
For superior contributions to the science and engineering of nanoscale energy-conversion materials and devices and outstanding energy-related service at the highest administrative levels.

2019 AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award
Stanley K. Borowski
Senior Aerospace Research Engineer, NASA Glenn Research Center (retired)
For sustained outstanding contributions in advanced propulsion, including the development and application of nuclear thermal propulsion for future human lunar and Mars exploration missions.

2019 AIAA Engineer of the Year 
Timothy Dominick
Senior Principal Mechanical Engineer, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems
For successful development and implementation of a novel structural insulator material, JT-700, into multiple controllable solids propulsion systems with potential applications across the aerospace industry.

In addition to these technical awards, we will be presenting two service awards:

2019 Sustained Service Award
Marty K. Bradley 
Technical Fellow, Boeing Commercial Airplanes 
For sustained, significant service at the national level with emphasis on Technical and Program/Integration Committee leadership, including formation of new committees. 

2019 Sustained Service Award 
Timothy Dominick 
Senior Principal Mechanical Engineer, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems
For sustained AIAA leadership at the section, region, and national committee levels attested by service to the Delaware Section and Public Policy Committee. 

About AIAA 
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 98 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics  
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551