AIAA Announces New Division Chiefs Written 24 January 2020


CONTACT: Michele McDonald

January 24, 2020 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the election of two new division chiefs.

  • Daniel T. Jensen, Rolls-Royce Corporation, was elected by the regional directors to become chief of the Regional Engagement Activities Division (READ).
  • Jeffrey W. Hamstra, Lockheed Martin Corporation, was elected by the technical group directors and the division committees to become chief of the Technical Activities Division (TAD).
Daniel T. Jensen,
Rolls-Royce Corporation
Jeffrey W. Hamstra,
Lockheed Martin Corporation

Jensen and Hamstra will begin their three-year terms at the conclusion of the May 2020 meetings of the AIAA Council of Directors and Board of Trustees. 

Jensen noted AIAA’s new governance model has given READ the opportunity to better integrate the student branches into the sections and regions, and potentially have a significant impact on the student-to-professional membership transition challenge. He plans to continue fostering cross-region collaboration and the sharing of best practices as well as continuing to work closely with the other division chiefs to ensure AIAA members receive the most from their membership.

Hamstra said his goals as TAD chief are to 1) define a vision for the future of AIAA’s technical content and TAD’s role in the Institute, 2) ensure technical integrity and operational excellence in our products and services, and 3) empower TCs to succeed in their objectives, especially regarding forum structure and planning.

Backgrounds of New Chiefs
Jensen has held engineering and engineering management positions at Rolls-Royce since 1995. He earned his B.S. in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1988, and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1990, and a Masters in Project Management from Penn State in 2008. He also held aerodynamics and propulsion engineering positions at Boeing (1990–1995).

Jensen has had 34 years of continuous AIAA membership and became an Associate Fellow in 2005. He has served as director–Region III (2015–present), Indiana Section chair (2003–2007), Emerging Technologies Committee chair (2007–2016), Air Breathing Propulsion Technical Committee member (2002–2008), Gas Turbine Engines Technical Committee member (2008–2015), and Public Policy Committee member (2005–2017). He received Special Service Citations in 2006 and 2019.

Hamstra has more than three decades of aerospace experience with background in functional engineering leadership, project management, and jet propulsion integration. He was selected as a Lockheed Martin Fellow in 2003, appointed as Senior Fellow in 2007 and has continue in that role. He previously served as Propulsion Department Manager. He’s also served on many advisory boards for universities, DoD, NASA, and the National Academies. He earned a BSAE (1983) and MSAE (1984) from the University of Michigan.

Hamstra joined AIAA in 2000, becoming a Fellow in 2011. He received a 2020 Sustained Service Award and a 2019 Council of Directors Special Service Citation. He was the editor of the AIAA Progress Series book The F-35 Lightning II: From Concept to Cockpit (2019), director of the Propulsion and Energy Group (PEG) (2013–2019), deputy director of PEG (2005–2013), chair of the Air Breathing Propulsion TC (2003–2005), lead instructor and council director/deputy director Training (2017–2019). He was a member of Governance Transition Working Group (2016–2017) and a member of the Forums Advisory Committee since 2018.

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807  
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551