AIAA Elects New Trustees to Board of Trustees Written 22 May 2020

May 22, 2020 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) announced the election of four new trustees to its Board of Trustees and new leadership for the AIAA Foundation.

“AIAA is grateful for the active volunteer leaders who help guide the Institute,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “AIAA board members are influential in their fields and help ensure AIAA remains in tune with today’s challenges as we continue to shape the future of aerospace.”

Four new trustees were elected:

  • Lourdes Maurice, dlmGlobal Solutions
  • Karen Willcox, University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert Lightfoot, Lockheed Martin Space
  • Frank Culbertson, Capt, USN (Ret.)

The terms for three trustees ended:

  • James Vasatka, Boeing Commercial Airplanes (Ret.)
  • Robie Samanta Roy, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • David Throckmorton, National Institute of Aerospace

AIAA Foundation Board leadership updates:

  • John Langford, founder/CEO Emeritus of Aurora Flight Sciences, a Boeing Company, and founder and CEO of, became the new chair
  • Steven Walker, Lockheed Martin Corporation, joined as trustee
  • James Maser, Aerojet Rocketdyne, stepped down as chair
  • Keoki Jackson, Lockheed Martin Corporation, stepped down as trustee

In addition, Basil Hassan became AIAA’s president and John Langford is now immediate past president. Please click on their hyperlinked names for more information.

Media contact: Michele McDonald,, 703.264.7542

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow AIAA on TwitterFacebook, or LinkedIn.