AIAA Announces 2023 Sustained Service Awards Winners Written 5 January 2023


January 5, 2023 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Sustained Service Awards. The award recognizes “sustained, significant service and contributions to AIAA by members of the Institute.”

“AIAA volunteers are the aerospace community’s greatest resource,” said Dan Dumbacher, AIAA executive director. “These AIAA members lead by example, using their talent and energy to guide the community. We are grateful for their dedication and hard work.” 

Recipients must be AIAA members in good standing who have shown continuing dedication to the interests of the Institute by making significant and sustained contributions over a period of time, typically 10 years or more. Active participation and service at the local section/regional level, and/or the national level is a potential discriminator in the evaluation of candidates.

The 2023 Sustained Service Awards winners are: 

  • David-L-CarrollDavid L. Carroll, CU Aerospace LLC
    Citation: For distinguished and sustained service to AIAA; the enhancement of science, innovation, and entrepreneurial leadership in aerospace engineering; and education of scientist engineers.

    Carroll co-founded CU Aerospace in 1998 and has served as its president since 2011. The company’s focus is engineering innovation for new aerospace technology products. He received his Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Illinois in 1992. Carroll is an AIAA Fellow.

  • John-W-DailyJohn W. Daily, University of Colorado Boulder
    Citation: In recognition of sustained contributions to the Institute's technical services, publications, and education committees.

    Daily is Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder. He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1975. He works in the field of combustion and fire. He has served AIAA in numerous positions and is an AIAA Fellow.

  • Luisella-GiulicchiLuisella Giulicchi, European Space Agency
    Citation: For over two decades of service to the Institute’s governance, regional organization, and technical activities, and for being the advocate of international cooperation and AIAA engagement worldwide.

    Giulicchi is a system manager at the European Space Agency (ESA), The Netherlands, for the Copernicus Program – the largest operational Earth observation program in the world. Her technical and programmatic management contributions include Bepi Colombo, SMART-1, LISA Pathfinder, Copernicus Sentinel-1, and Copernicus Sentinel-6. She is an AIAA Associate Fellow, RAeS Fellow, WIA-Europe President, and past member of the AIAA Board of Directors.

  • Walter-O-GordonWalter O. Gordon, Moog Inc. (retired); Colonel, U.S. Air Force (retired)
    Citation: For exceptional service to AIAA and for significant advancement of aerospace activities.

    Gordon worked as an engineer in Western New York for 41 years before retiring recently to devote his time to the AIAA Niagara Frontier Section and to local aerospace history. He also flew C130s in the Air Force Reserve, retiring in 2014 as the commander of the 914th Airlift Wing.  

  • Dawn-PhillipsDawn Phillips, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC)
    Citation: In honor of 20 years of dedicated service, leadership, and tireless work on behalf of AIAA, the AIAA Structures Technical Committee, and AIAA members.

    With NASA, Phillips has supported the Space Shuttle, Ares, and SLS programs as a stress analyst and member of the NESC Structures Team. She is currently in Huntsville, Ala., as the MSFC Assistant Chief Engineer for the International Space Station. 

  • Sidra-SiltonSidra Silton, U.S. Army DEVCOM Army Research Laboratory
    Citation: For two decades of dedicated service to the applied aerodynamics and fluid dynamics technical communities.

    Silton received her Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin in 2001. Upon graduation she began working for the Army Research Laboratory where she now serves as Chief of the Mechanical Sciences Division. Silton is an AIAA Associate Fellow.

Media Contact: Rebecca B. Gray,, 804-397-5270 cell

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, and follow AIAA on TwitterFacebookLinkedIn, and Instagram.