AIAA to Recognize Excellence in Aerospace Award Winners at the 2024 AIAA SciTech Forum Written 5 December 2023


Scitech-socialcardDecember 5, 2023 – Reston, Va.  The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the winners of awards to be presented during the 2024 AIAA SciTech Forum, to be held 8–12 January 2024, Orlando, Florida. Registration is open to attend in person. Journalists can request a Press Pass here.
“We are proud to recognize these accomplished individuals for their influence on the aerospace profession, their outstanding merit, and their unique contributions to the art, science, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics,” said AIAA Executive Director Dan Dumbacher. “Chosen by their peers, these exemplary professionals are truly inspirational. We are grateful for their efforts shaping the future of aerospace.”

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, contact Patricia A. Carr at


2024 Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award
The award is presented for the best original contribution to the field of aeronautical or astronautical non-fiction literature published in the last five years dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics or astronautics on society.

Margaret A. Weitekamp
Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum
Space Craze: America’s Enduring Fascination with Real and Imagined Space Flight

2024 AIAA History Manuscript Award
This award is presented for the best historical manuscript dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics and astronautics on society.

Aaron M. Bateman
George Washington University
A Space Renaissance: The Strategic Defense Initiative and the Arms Race

2024 AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award
The award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions to aeronautical and astronautical literature in the relatively recent past.

Ann P. Dowling
University of Cambridge
Combustion Noise

2024 AIAA Summerfield Book Award
This award is presented to the author of the best book recently published (within the last five years) by AIAA.

Jeffrey W. Hamstra
Lockheed Martin Corporation
The F-35 Lightning II: From Concept to Cockpit


2024 AIAA Mary W. Jackson Diversity and Inclusion Award
This award recognizes an individual or group within AIAA who has devoted time and effort and made significant contributions to the advancement of diversity and inclusion within the Institute.

Amanda Simpson
Airbus Americas (retired)
U.S. Department of Defense (retired)
For being a trailblazer in the aerospace community, a champion of diversity and inclusion in industry and government, and an inspiration to future generations.

2024 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award
This award is presented to an individual for sustained, meritorious accomplishment in the arts, sciences, and technology of air breathing propulsion systems.

Aspi R. Wadia
GE Aviation (retired)
For sustained excellence, global impact, and revolutionary research and development in gas turbine aerodynamics.

2024 AIAA Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award
This award is presented for continued contributions and achievements toward the advancement of advanced aerodynamics flowfield and surface measurement techniques for research in flight and ground test applications.

Paul M. Danehy
NASA Langley Research Center
For the development and application of optical and laser-based measurement techniques supporting NASA’s aeronautics and space exploration missions.

2024 AIAA de Florez Award for Flight Simulation
This award is presented for an outstanding individual achievement in the application of flight simulation to aerospace training, research, and development.

Marinus Maria van Paassen
Delft University
For key contributions to the fields of human-in-the-loop vehicle simulation, real-time and distributed simulation software, and aerospace human factors.

2024 AIAA Energy Systems Award
This award is presented for a significant contribution in the broad field of energy systems, specifically as related to the application of engineering sciences and systems engineering to the production, storage, distribution, and conservation of energy.

Chih-Jen Sung
University of Connecticut
For outstanding contributions to flame dynamics and low-temperature chemistry for developing fuel-flexible, ultra-low emission, efficient combustion energy systems using conventional and alternative fuels.

2024 AIAA Intelligent Systems Award
This award is presented to recognize important fundamental contributions to intelligent systems technologies and applications that advance the capabilities of aerospace systems.

Randal W. Beard
Brigham Young University
For his innovative contributions to the guidance and control of autonomous aircraft and to the mentoring and training of the next generation of aerospace leaders.

2024 AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award
This award is presented for an outstanding recent technical or scientific contribution by an individual in the mechanics, guidance, or control of flight in space or the atmosphere.

David Mitchell
Mitchell Aerospace Research
For industry-defining research and globally recognized leadership in flying qualities, handling qualities, and PIO evaluation in both fixed wing and rotary wing vehicles.

2024 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award
This award is presented for outstanding technical contributions to aeronautical or astronautical combustion engineering.

Jeffrey Cohen
RTX Corporation
For outstanding contributions to sprays, combustion control, and gas turbine combustion.

2024 AIAA Structures, Structural Dynamics, & Materials Award
This award is presented to an individual who has been responsible for an outstanding sustained technical or scientific contribution in aerospace structures, structural dynamics, or materials.

Carlos E. S. Cesnik
University of Michigan
For seminal contributions to research and education in structural modeling, dynamics, and health monitoring emphasizing multiphysics effects in very flexible aircraft, rotorcraft, and hypersonic vehicles.

2024 AIAA Survivability Award
This award is presented to an individual or a team to recognize outstanding achievement or contribution in design, analysis, implementation and/or education of survivability in an aerospace system.

Gary C. Wollenweber
GE Aerospace
For exceptional contributions during a longstanding career in aircraft engine thermal design that has led to improved aircraft survivability through IR signature reduction.

2024 AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award
This award is presented for outstanding achievement in the development or application of rocket propulsion systems.

Joseph Majdalani
Auburn University
For groundbreaking theoretical modeling and research on cyclonic rocket engines, revolutionizing the understanding of these and many other liquid, solid, and hybrid rocket engines.

Media Contact: Rebecca B. Gray,, 804-397-5270 cell

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, and follow AIAA on TwitterFacebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram.