AIAA Announces 2019 Winners of Literary Excellence Aerospace Awards Written 21 December 2018

CONTACT: John Blacksten

Awards to be presented at AIAA SciTech Forum in San Diego

December 21, 2018 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce that the following Literary Excellence in Aerospace Awards will be presented during the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (AIAA SciTech Forum), held 7-11 January at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, Calif.

  • Valerie Neal, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, author of Spaceflight in the Shuttle Era and Beyond: Redefining Humanity’s Purpose in Space has been awarded the AIAA Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award. The award is presented for the best original contribution to the field of aeronautical or astronautical nonfiction literature published in the last five years dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics or astronautics on society.

  • Tony Chong, Northrop Grumman Corporation, has been awarded the AIAA History Manuscript Award for Flying Wings & Radical Things: Northrop's Secret Aerospace Projects & Concepts 1939-1994. The award is presented for the best historical manuscript dealing with the science, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics and astronautics on society. The purpose of the award is to provide professional recognition to an author who makes a major and original contribution to the history of aeronautics or astronautics.

  • Naira Hovakimyan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has been awarded the AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award for her book, L1 Adaptive Control Theory: Guaranteed Robustness with Fast Adaptation. The award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions to aeronautical and astronautical literature in the relatively recent past.

  • Jack D. Mattingly and Keith M. Boyer, U.S. Air Force Academy (ret.), authors of Elements of Propulsion – Gas Turbines and Rockets, have been awarded the AIAA Summerfield Book Award. The award is presented to the author of the best book recently published by AIAA.

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Patricia A. Carr, Manager, Honors and Awards Programs, at

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is nearly 30,000 engineers and scientists, and 95 corporate members, from 85 countries who are dedicated to advancing the global aerospace profession. The world’s largest aerospace technical society, the Institute convenes five yearly forums; publishes books, technical journals, and Aerospace America; hosts a collection of 160,000 technical papers; develops and maintains standards; honors and celebrates achievement; and advocates on policy issues. AIAA serves aerospace professionals around the world—who are shaping the future of aerospace—by providing the tools, insights, and collaborative exchanges to advance the state of the art in engineering and science for aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter  @AIAA.


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807 
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551