AIAA Announces Candidates for 2022 Election Written 29 October 2021

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) announced today the candidates for next year’s openings on the AIAA Council of Directors. The selections were made by the AIAA Council Nominating Committee. Elections will be held 20 January–11 February 2022.

AIAA Council Nominating Committee Chair John Blanton, and AIAA Governance Director Christopher Horton confirmed the following names of the candidates who will appear on the 2022 ballot:

Integration and Outreach Activities Division
Director – Aerospace Outreach Group
Kevin Burns, Retired

Director – Integration Group
Thomas Irvine, TBI Aerospace Consulting, LLC
Chandru Mirchandani, Leidos Innovations Corporation

Director-Elect – Young Professionals Group
Bryan Kowalczyk, University of Cincinnati
Dominic Pena, Ball Aerospace

Regional Engagement Activities Division
Director – Region IV
Ellen Gillespie, Retired
Andrew Santangelo, sci_Zone, Inc.

Director – Region V
James Guglielmo, Boeing Research & Technology
Merri Sanchez, The Aerospace Corporation

Technical Activities Division
Director – Information Systems Group
Stephen Blanchette, The Aerospace Corporation
Michel Ingham, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Director – Propulsion and Energy Group
Steven Gorrell, Brigham Young University
Rusty Powell, Axient, LLC